Vol. 2

Stephan Mathieu [Full Swing] / & Douglas Benford [Si-cut.db]
[bleep 22]

Since its beginning BiP_HOp has expressed an interest in collaborative works, trying to go against the autistic side of contemporary electronica. In that tradition, Philippe Petit
had the idea of starting a series of split CDs featuring the work(s) of two sound assemblers and documenting the process of musical reciprocality between them. To push the
concept even further it was better to create an association between two labels.
BiP-HOp in association with Fällt are pleased to present Reciprocess + / vs. As the title of the series suggests each volume features the work of two sound assemblers contributing:
a collaborative work; a series of independent works; and finally, contributing a remix of each other's work(s). Reciprocess + / vs. is co-curated by Philippe Petit (BiP-HOp) and Christopher Murphy (Fällt) and features artwork by Fällt designers Fehler.
Each volume in the series offers an overview of the two participating artists, with select discographies and specially comissioned sleeve notes by established critics. The design of
the series reflects the different contributors with artwork that is readable from top to bottom, back to front and left to right - paper-based interactivity.
mastered by Henner Dondorf at Andromeda, Saarbruecken.

how to order
01 Und.And
02 Don't.Ask
03 Octavia.Drive  
04 Wissen.Sch.Nitt  
05 Flurry.Gardening  
06 Jfm.Gen  
07 Cond.Verge  
08 Chlorine.Gen  
09 Adorable.Capitolism  
10 Divpops.Stage
11 Medium.Lane.Gen
12 Nearsighted.Gen  
13 Novecento.Avocado  
Tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 13 - Written & produced by Douglas Benford & Stephan Mathieu
Tracks 3 and 9 - Written & produced by Stephan Mathieu
Tracks 6, 8, 11, 12 - Written & produced by Douglas Benford.

For some time, Stephan Mathieu "has been trying to reduce his compositional approach to a minimum by accepting sounds the way they are." Alike his contemporaries Cray, Pimmon, Taylor Deupree, or Komet he has managed to create his own and particular sound.
Releasing for such labels as Mille Plateaux, Orthlong Musork, Ritornell, Lucky Kitchen, Fällt...

Douglas Benford has been releasing music under the alias Si-cut.db for years, he also the second player in Tennis, and founder of Sprawl. His next album has been commissioned by the Highpointlowlife label, the eagerly awaited "offices at night" album is due out on Fallt very soon... Si-cut.db appeared on two new compilations from the german label BackGround. He'll be on the upcoming Warpmart sampler, and working on another full-length for BiP_HOp... As the saying goes "the early bird catches the world", no doubt that Douglas Benford is on his way to world domination.